F Features

Fitzpatrick wins exciting Pinty’s Clarington 200

Sunday-VDS mid res

26-year-old J.R. Fitzpatrick (pictured) won the exciting NASCAR Canadian Tire Series season opening race, the Pinty’s presents the Clarington 200 in front of a huge crowd at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The victory was the fourth at the historic 3.957 km Grand Prix Circuit for the Ayr, Ontario native.

Fitzpatrick, who entered the weekend on a 15-race winless streak before capturing his ninth career win, was followed to the line by Grimsby, Ontario resident Jeff Lapcevich. Road course veteran racer Robin Buck of Campbellville, Ontario was third.

The Pirelli World Challenge held their third race of Castrol presents the Victoria Day SpeedFest Weekend. For the third day in a row, Toronto’s Michael DiMeo was victorious in the Touring Class. The Honda Civic Si driver was followed by Markham’s Gary Kwok and Karl Thomson, also of Toronto. Ernie Francis Jr. of Florida took the checkered flag in TCA Class and Oklahoma’s Nathan Stacy was first in TCB-Spec.

The Ultra 94 Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge Canada by Michelin held its second race of the weekend. In Platinum Cup, Scott Hargrove finished on the top step of the podium with Christopher Green second and Spencer Pigot third. For the second straight day, Jerimy Daniel was the victor in Gold Cup. Keith Bass won in Silver Cup.

Sunday's racing action also saw the Canadian Touring Car Championship complete their weekend doubleheader. Remy Audette took the win in Super Touring over Mathieu Audette. Damon Sharpe was first in the Touring Class and Normand Boyer took the victory in B-Spec.

In Canadian Supercar, Louey Jabouri finished on top of the podium in the S1 class over Robert Burgess. Nick Ferraro was first in S2.

NASCAR Canadian Tire Series pres. by Mobil 1
Pinty's presents the Clarington 200

Sunday, May 18, 2014
At Canadian Tire Motorsport Park
Bowmanville, Ont.
Lap length: 2.459 miles

(Start position in parentheses)
1. (2) J.R. Fitzpatrick, Ayr, Ont., Chevrolet, 54 laps, 69.219 mph.
2. (3) Jeff Lapcevich, Grimsby, Ont., Dodge, 54.
3. (7) Robin Buck, Campbellville, Ont., Dodge, 54.
4. (5) L.P. Dumoulin, Trois-Rivières, Que., Dodge, 54.
5. (13) D.J. Kennington, St. Thomas, Ont., Dodge, 54.
6. (12) Kerry Micks, Mount Albert, Ont., Ford, 54.
7. (20) Hugo Vannini, Repentigny, Que., Ford, 54.
8. (8) Luc Lesage, Trois-Rivières, Que., Dodge, 54.
9. (6) Peter Klutt, Halton Hills, Ont., Chevrolet, 54.
10. (22) Ray Courtemanche Jr., Montreal, Que., Dodge, 54.
11. (26) David Thorndyke, Oshawa, Ont., Chevrolet, 54.
12. (16) Matthew Scannell, Milton. Ont., Dodge, 54.
13. (11) Stefan Rzadzinski, Edmonton, Alta., Dodge, 54.
14. (28) Jocelyn Fecteau, Montreal, Que., Dodge, 54.
15. (25) Bob Attrell, Brampton, Ont., Dodge, 53.
16. (19) Matt Pritiko, London, Ont., Chevrolet, 53.
17. (17) Joey McColm, Ajax, Ont., Dodge, 53.
18. (23) Russ Bond, Toronto, Ont., Ford, 52.
19. (9) Marc-Antoine Camirand, Saint-Leonard-d'Aston, Que., Chevrolet, 52.
20. (27) Derek White, Kahnawake, Que., Chevrolet, 52.
21. (1) Andrew Ranger, Roxton Pond, Que., Dodge, 51.
22. (15) Noel Dowler, Sherwood Park, Alta., Dodge, 41, oil line.
23. (21) Steve Mathews, New Liskeard, Ont., Ford, 37, oil leak.
24. (4) Jason Hathaway, Dutton, Ont., Chevrolet, 35, engine.
25. (10) Scott Steckly, Milverton, Ont., Dodge, 23, accident.
26. (14) Ryan Klutt, Milton, Ont., Chevrolet, 23, vibration.
27. (24) Jason White, Sun Peaks, B.C., Dodge, 21.
28. (18) Anthony Simone, Holland Landing, Ont., Dodge, 4, suspension.

Race Statistics
Time of Race: 1 hour 55 minutes 6 seconds
Margin of Victory: .319 seconds   

Photo by John Walker

Popular News

top logo 2018

PRN Motorsport Magazine.

For Canadian Race Fans and Racers

Since 1989





Social Links